“Yoga is a life of self discipline built upon the tenets of simple living and high thinking.  If you follow these five points of yoga, which compose a true holistic approach to our whole system of body, mind and soul, you will gain strength and balance in this demanding stressful world.  Obstacles become stepping stones to success, and life is a school for the development of character and compassion and the Realization of the Divine all-pervading-Self” 斯瓦米·维什努德瓦南达(Swami Vishnudevananda)

斯瓦米·维斯努德瓦南达(Swami Vishnudevananda)通过密切观察当今世界人们的生活方式和需求,将瑜伽的古老智慧整合为5个基本要点,这些基本要点可以轻松地融入您自己的生活方式中,以提供长期,健康和幸福的生活。

瑜伽的五个要点是:

  1. 正确运动
  2. 正确呼吸
  3. 适当放松
  4. 适当饮食
  5. 积极思考与冥想

身体是灵魂的交通工具,对身体的平稳运行和提供最佳行驶里程,必须满足特定的要求。身体可以比喻为汽车。为了使汽车发挥功能,它需要五件事:润滑系统,电池,冷却系统,适当的燃料以及清晰的头脑和负责任的驾驶员。

1.正确锻炼–Āsana

身体的瑜伽锻炼称为sanas,这是一个稳定的姿势。这是因为瑜伽anasana(或姿势)要保持一段时间。瑜伽将身体视为灵魂在实现完全对齐的过程中的工具,因此,anasana的目的不仅在于发展身体,而且还拓宽了精神和精神能力。

基本哲学

我们的身体可以移动和锻炼。如果我们的生活方式不能提供肌肉和关节的自然运动,那么疾病和不适感就会越来越多。瑜伽可能与西方多年来教给我们的东西(“无痛苦,无收获”)有些背道而驰,它是一种教人如何运动的哲学。  生活–包括我们的运动方式。斯瓦米·维什努德瓦南达(Swami Vishnudevananda)认为,适当的锻炼实际上是一个想法:“不痛苦,不痛苦”。通过练习瑜伽姿势,不仅是健美操,而且还可以了解所使用的肌肉,呼吸,放松的意识,从而使大脑逐渐脱离感觉,身体变得更加平衡。

对健康的益处

身体年轻灵活。瑜伽练习的重点是脊椎的健康,强度和柔韧性。瑜伽运动系统可以对整个人进行彻底的检查,堪比其他任何人。体位训练缓慢而有意识地进行,远远超出了单纯的身体益处,成为集中精力和冥想的心理锻炼。

日常练习

Swami Vishnudevananda, the founder of Sivananda Yoga, recommended daily practice of the 12 Basic Āsanas for optimal health. Traditionally our practice begins with Sūrya Namaskār, the sun salutation, and leg raises before the āsana practice, and includes 适当放松, or Śavāsana, throughout and and at to complete the class so that we assimilate the benefits we receive during our practice.

2.正确的呼吸–Prāṇāyāma

呼吸控制科学Prāṇāyāma由一系列运动组成,这些运动尤其旨在使身心保持活力。

介绍

呼吸就是生命。我们可以在没有食物或水的情况下生活数日,但剥夺了我们的呼吸,我们在几分钟之内死亡。有鉴于此,令人惊讶的是我们在正常生活中很少注意正确呼吸的重要性。对瑜伽士来说,正常呼吸有两个主要功能:为血液和大脑带来更多的氧气;并控制prāvitala或生命力,从而导致思想控制。

呼吸有三种主要类型:腹部(深),胸部(中)和锁骨(浅)呼吸。完整的瑜伽呼吸结合了这三个方面,从深呼吸开始,一直持续到肋间和锁骨区域的吸入。腹部深呼吸对肺的主要部分通气至关重要。

全面的瑜伽呼吸

1.     Clavicular breathing

吸入过程中,腹部收缩时,肩膀和锁骨抬高。尽最大努力,但获得的空气量最少。这种技术是我们大多数人自然呼吸的方式。它是完整的瑜伽呼吸中最浅,最不起作用的成分。

2.      Chest breathing

该技术是通过使肋骨肌肉扩张肋骨笼而完成的,并且是完整的瑜伽呼吸的第二部分。

3.      Deep abdominal breathing

呼吸缓慢而深沉,应适当使用隔膜。这项技术是完整的瑜伽呼吸最有效的方面,因为它可以将空气输送到最低和最大的肺部。

鼻孔交替呼吸

Anuloma Viloma或交替鼻孔呼吸是PrāPrāyāma或呼吸控制的主要形式之一。从字面上意思是“控制prāṇa”,Prāṇāyāma由特定的呼吸技术组成,这些呼吸技术鼓励将prāṇa吸收到人体微妙的能量通道(nāḍīs)和能量中心(cakras)中,从而增强整体活力和幸福感。

鼻孔交替呼吸可以纠正许多不良的呼吸习惯,还可以帮助我们平衡大脑两侧的使用方式–逻辑左侧和创造性右侧。研究表明,这与我们鼻孔中的气流之间存在联系:当右鼻孔更张开时,左脑半球更加活跃,反之亦然。

卡帕拉巴蒂

如果在静修场所外开始活动或不在遵循指导的情况下开始活动,建议您仅在练习交替鼻孔呼吸一两个月后才开始练习。这是因为对于很多人来说,在呼吸过程中要花费很长时间才能使隔膜以适当的方式运动。

在梵文中,kapala的意思是“头骨”,bhati的意思是“发光”。因此,“ Kapalabhati”一词是指使头骨发光的运动。它被认为可以清洁整个系统,因此如果定期进行练习,脸部将具有良好的健康和光彩。

3.适当放松–Śavāsana

在我们这个日益相互联系的世界中,我们中的许多人越来越难于处于真正放松的自然状态。即使在上网,看电视,读一本好书,与朋友交往时,我们中的许多人仍在不断地承受着潜在的压力,而他们仍在消耗大量的体力和精神能量–不断使我们的肌肉处于某种程度的“警报”。

In order for us to properly regulate and balance the work of the body and mind, the great Yogis teach that we need to learn to economize the energy produced by our body. We use three methods to help assimilate this process: “Physical”, “Mental”, and “Spiritual” relaxation. While each stage is very rewarding, the great Yogis say that relaxation is not fully realized until we experience that space of spiritual relaxation, a state that becomes more and more present with each day of practice.

  1. 身体放松

西瓦南达传统的放松始于 我们的饮食, but because that involves more of our habits and tendencies (a more challenging aspect for us to initially influence) we will leave that for the next step in the Five Points of Yoga. In this section we are going to focus on learning how it is we go about experiencing relaxation through our āsana practice.

在我们的ana练习中,身体放松练习始于我们以尸体姿势躺下,胳膊和腿都与我们的身体分开大约30度。我们不是在试图做任何事情,也不是在做任何事情,我们不是在试图在任何地方,而是在我们所处的地方……让自己完全放松……感觉到我们下面的大地。当我们扎根于我们的经验时,我们下意识地开始让紧张去。在我们进行放手的过程中,瑜伽课的指导者会进行心理暗示。我们使用精妙的头脑的力量来帮助我们放松肌肉。自动提示从脚趾到头部一直贯穿肌肉。然后,缓慢地将消息发送到肾脏,肝脏和其他内部器官。

  1. 精神放松

遇到精神紧张时,建议我们缓慢有节奏地呼吸几分钟。很快头脑就会变得平静。您可能会遇到一种浮动的感觉。如果您有个人口头禅,请慢慢开始对自己重复。如果您没有个人口头禅,可以在可视化内部光线时重复口头禅“ om”。咒语和呼吸功是精神放松的基本组成部分。

  1. 精神放松

无论我们多么想尝试放松思想,在我们达到精神放松之前,所有的紧张和忧虑都无法完全消除。只要我们在不知不觉中选择与身体和心灵相符,我们就会有忧虑,悲伤,焦虑,恐惧和愤怒。这些情绪反过来将继续给我们带来紧张。

瑜伽士知道,除非一个人能够摆脱身心观念并使自己(或自己)与自我意识区分开,否则无法获得完全的放松。瑜伽修行者反而认同内在的无处不在,无所不能,和平与快乐。瑜伽士知道,所有力量,知识,和平与力量的来源都来自于自我,而不仅仅是身体。我们通过训练自己的思想以潜意识地断言我们的真实本质,即:“我就是那种纯粹的意识或自我”,逐渐适应了这一点。通过对自我的这种认同,我们完成了瑜伽放松的过程。

4.适当饮食–瑜伽饮食

除了负责建立我们的身体,我们吃的食物还深刻影响我们的思想,我们的感官和环境。今天,让我们开始熟悉基础知识。

瑜伽饮食

瑜伽饮食是一种乳素素食,由纯净,简单,天然的食物组成,容易消化并促进健康。简单的饭食有助于食物的消化和吸收。相反,加工,精制和过度烹饪常常破坏许多营养益处。营养需求分为五类:蛋白质,碳水化合物,矿物质,脂肪和维生素。为了平衡饮食,我们应该对饮食学有所了解。从肥沃的土壤(最好是有机的,不含化学物质和杀虫剂的土壤)生长的自然食物中直接食用有助于确保更好地满足这些营养需求。

营养有益

瑜伽宣称太阳是地球上所有生命的能量之源。它滋养植物(食物链的顶部),然后被动物(素食)食用,然后被其他动物(食肉动物)食用。在阳光下直接营养的食物链顶端的食物具有最大的促进生命的特性。动物肉的食物价值被称为“二手”营养来源,被认为不如他们所谓的自然食物来源。这些天然食品(水果,蔬菜,种子,坚果和谷物)具有不同比例的这些必需营养素。作为蛋白质的来源,它们很容易被人体吸收。然而,瑜伽士也认为,二手货通常较难消化,对人体新陈代谢的价值较低。

足够的蛋白质?

简短的答案是肯定的。尽管人们经常担心自己的日常摄入中是否摄入了足够的蛋白质,但Swami Vishnu认为蛋白质的质量远比单纯的蛋白质重要。乳制品,豆类,坚果和种子是蛋白质的重要来源,可以为素食者提供足够的补充。

简单,自然,新鲜

A healthy motto is: “Eat to live, not live to eat”. It is best if we understand that the purpose of eating is to supply our being with the life-force, or Prāṇa, the vital life energy. So the greatest nutritional plan for the Yoga student is the simple diet of natural fresh foods.

微妙的影响

作为瑜伽士,我们关注食物对我们的大脑和星体产生的微妙影响。因此,我们避免食用刺激性过强的食物,而应选择那些能使头脑冷静和理智敏锐的食物。认真对待瑜伽的人也应避免摄入肉,鱼,蛋,洋葱,大蒜,咖啡,茶(草药除外),酒精和药物。

当然,饮食上的任何改变都应逐渐进行。首先以较大比例的蔬菜,谷物,种子和坚果代替,直到最终所有肉类产品均已从饮食中完全清除。

许多好处

瑜伽饮食可以帮助我们达到高标准的健康,敏锐的智力和平静的心态。要真正了解瑜伽的减肥方法,我们必须更加熟悉3 Guas的概念或自然品质。

5.积极思考与冥想–吠陀经和禅定

According to Swami Vishnudevananda, Vedānta & Dhyāna (Positive Thinking and Meditation) is the most important of all the 5 Points of Yoga, for we become what we think. Yoga teaches us that a positive outlook on life can be developed by learning and practicing the teachings of the philosophy of Vedānta; and the mind will be brought under perfect control by regular practice of meditation and living a Yogic lifestyle.

什么是思想?

在科学中,我们有热浪,光浪和电浪–在瑜伽运动中,我们也有思想浪潮。思想具有巨大的力量。每个人总是或多或少地不知不觉地经历着思想的力量。我们发出的每一个想法都是永不消逝的震动。

瑜伽–变革力量

我们必须非常警惕地将非积极思想扼杀在萌芽状态。只有这样,我们才能真正快乐。精神思想是黄色的。充满愤怒和仇恨的思想是深红色。自私的想法带有棕色等。每个思想都是无穷无尽的因果链中的一个链接,每个因果成为一个因果,并且每个因果都是一个因果。循环链中的每个环节都是由三个组成部分组成的:欲望,思想和活动。欲望激发思想;思想体现为一种行为。我们的行动构成了命运网。

瑜伽–行动中的生活

A positive Yogic lifestyle automatically generates positive thoughts. Āsanas help move the prāṇa and remove mental blockages. Prāṇāyāma balances energy and supplies new energy to the body and mind. Śavāsana removes stress. Proper diet provides vital energy and meditation recharges and purifies thoughts.

每个人都有能力将自己的思想从消极转变为积极。由于思想是即时的,因此人们需要掌握这些不同的思想工具,因为随着时间的推移,消极思想因重复的力量而变得越来越严重。瑜伽的所有路径都有提供的方法-拉贾(Rājā),因果报应(Karma),巴克提(Bhakti)和詹娜(Jñāna)-有一些方法适合任何一种最佳方法。如果您对这个主题很感兴趣,则可以考虑参加“教师培训课程”,因为您会发现它令人难以置信。现在,我们将通过提供此简短的介绍进行总结,并继续牢记有关冥想和学习控制思想的几点。

7点冥想

  1. 坐稳,舒适,盘腿,脊柱和颈部直立,但不要紧张。
  2. 在开始之前,请命令大脑保持安静一段时间。忘记过去,现在和未来。
  3. 有节奏地呼吸–吸气三秒钟,呼气三秒钟。呼吸的调节也调节了生命能量prāṇa的流动。
  4. 首先要让思想漂移。它会跳跃,但最终会随着普拉亚的集中而变得集中。
  5. 选择一个可以使头脑休息的焦点。对于天生有才智的人来说,这也许就是ĀjñāChakra(眉毛之间的交点)。对于更多情绪化的人,请使用Anāhata或Heart Chakra。切勿更改此焦点。
  6. 将注意力集中在中性或令人振奋的物体上,使图像保持集中。如果使用咒语,请在心理上重复它,并协调呼吸的重复。如果您没有个性化的口头禅,请使用Om。永远不要改变咒语。
  7. 时间,地点和练习的规律性很重要。规律性可以使头脑以最小的延迟减慢其活动速度。

原始资料已出版 这里.

注释 (1)

发表评论

电子邮件地址不会被公开。

“Yoga is a life of self discipline built upon the tenets of simple living and high thinking.  If you follow these five points of yoga, which compose a true holistic approach to our whole system of body, mind and soul, you will gain strength and balance in this demanding stressful world.  Obstacles become stepping stones to success, and life is a school for the development of character and compassion and the Realization of the Divine all-pervading-Self” Swami Vishnudevananda

By closely observing the lifestyles and needs of people in our modern world, Swami Vishnudevananda synthesized the ancient wisdom of Yoga into 5 basic points which can easily be incorporated into your own pattern of living, to provide a long, healthy and happy life.

The five points of Yoga are:

  1. Proper Exercise
  2. Proper Breathing
  3. Proper Relaxation
  4. Proper Diet
  5. Positive Thinking and Meditation

The body is a vehicle for the soul, and has specific requirements which must be fulfilled for it to function smoothly and supply the optimum mileage. The body can be compared to a car, metaphorically. In order for the car to perform its function, it requires five things: a lubrication system, a battery, a cooling system, proper fuel, and a clear mind and responsible driver behind the wheel.

1. Proper Exercise – Āsana

The physical yogic exercises are called āsanas, a term which means steady pose. This is because the yoga āsana (or posture) is meant to be held for some time. As Yoga regards the body as a vehicle for the soul on its journey towards total alignment, āsanas are designed to develop not only the body but to also broaden the mental and spiritual capacities.

Basic Philosophy

Our body is meant to move and exercise. If our lifestyle does not provide natural motion of muscles and joints, then disease and discomfort have all the more opportunity to arise. Perhaps a bit contrary to what we have been taught in the West for years (“no pain, no gain”), Yoga is a philosophy that teaches the principles of going with life – including how we exercise. According to Swami Vishnudevananda, proper exercise is actually of the idea: “no pain, no pain”. By practicing the yoga postures not as mere calisthenics, but with awareness of the muscles used, of the breathing, of the relaxation – the mind learns to become detached from the senses little by little and the body strengthens in balance.

Health Benefits

The body is as young as it is flexible. Yoga exercises focus on the health of the spine, its strength and flexibility. The yoga system of exercise can be compared to no other in its complete overhaul of the entire being. Performed slowly and consciously, the asanas go far beyond mere physical benefits, becoming mental exercises in concentration and meditation.

Daily Practice

Swami Vishnudevananda, the founder of Sivananda Yoga, recommended daily practice of the 12 Basic Āsanas for optimal health. Traditionally our practice begins with Sūrya Namaskār, the sun salutation, and leg raises before the āsana practice, and includes proper relaxation, or Śavāsana, throughout and and at to complete the class so that we assimilate the benefits we receive during our practice.

2. Proper breathing – Prāṇāyāma

Prāṇāyāma, the science of breath control, consists of a series of exercises especially intended to keep the body and mind in vibrant health.

Introduction

Breath is life. We can live for days without food or water but deprive us of breath and we die in minutes. In view of this, it is astonishing how little attention we pay in normal life to the importance of breathing correctly. To a Yogi there are two main functions of proper breathing: to bring more oxygen to the blood and thus to the brain; and to control prāṇa or vital energy, leading to the control of the mind.

There are three main types of breathing: abdominal (deep), chest (middle), and clavicular (shallow) breathing. A full Yogic breath combines all three, beginning with a deep breath and continuing the inhalation through the intercostal and clavicular areas. Deep abdominal breathing is essential for ventilating the major part of the lungs.

Full Yogic Breath

1.     Clavicular breathing

The shoulders and collarbone are raised while the abdomen is contracted during inhalation. Maximum effort is made, but a minimum amount of air is obtained. This technique is how the majority of us naturally breathe. It is the shallowest and least effective component of the full Yogic breath.

2.      Chest breathing

This technique is done with the rib muscles expanding the rib cage, and is the second component of the full Yogic breath.

3.      Deep abdominal breathing

Breathing is slow and deep, and proper use is made of the diaphragm. This technique is the most effective aspect of a full Yogic breath, for it brings air to the lowest and largest part of the lungs.

Alternate Nostril Breathing

Anuloma Viloma, or Alternate Nostril Breathing, is one of the main forms of Prāṇāyāma, or breath control. Literally meaning “control of prāṇa”, Prāṇāyāma consists of specific breathing techniques that encourage the absorption of prāṇa into the body’s subtle energy channels (nāḍīs) and energy centers (cakras), enhancing overall vitality and well-being.

Alternate Nostril Breathing corrects many negative breathing habits, as well as helping us to balance how we use the two sides of our brain – the logical left side and the creative right side. Research has shown that there is a connection between this and the airflow in our nostrils: when the right nostril is more open, the left brain hemisphere is more active, and vice versa.

Kapalabhati

If beginning outside an ashram or not under observed guidance, it is recommended that you start this exercise only after practicing Alternate Nostril Breathing for one or two months. This is because with many people it takes quite a time to get the diaphragm to move in a proper way during breathing.

In Sanskrit, kapala means ‘skull’ and bhati means ‘shines’. Therefore the term Kapalabhati means an exercise that makes the skull shine. It is considered to be so cleansing to the entire system that, when practiced on a regular basis, the face shines with good health and radiance.

3. Proper relaxation – Śavāsana

In our increasingly interconnected world, many of us are finding it more and more difficult to be in our natural state of feeling truly relaxed. Even while surfing the web, watching tv, reading a good book, socializing with friends – many of us are still expending a great deal of physical and mental energy simply through our ever-running underlying tension – constantly keeping our muscles on some level of “alert”.

In order for us to properly regulate and balance the work of the body and mind, the great Yogis teach that we need to learn to economize the energy produced by our body. We use three methods to help assimilate this process: “Physical”, “Mental”, and “Spiritual” relaxation. While each stage is very rewarding, the great Yogis say that relaxation is not fully realized until we experience that space of spiritual relaxation, a state that becomes more and more present with each day of practice.

  1. Physical Relaxation

Relaxation in the Sivananda tradition begins with our diet, but because that involves more of our habits and tendencies (a more challenging aspect for us to initially influence) we will leave that for the next step in the Five Points of Yoga. In this section we are going to focus on learning how it is we go about experiencing relaxation through our āsana practice.

In our āsana practice, the physical relaxation practice begins with our lying down in a corpse pose, with arms and legs both spread apart roughly 30 degrees from our body. We are not trying to do or to be anything, we are not trying to be anywhere but where we are… allowing ourselves to fully relax… Feeling the earth beneath us.. As we ground into our experience, we subconsciously are beginning to let the tension go. As we engage this process of letting go, the yoga class instructor enrolls a mental autosuggestion. We use the power of the subtle mind to help us in this process of relaxing our tightened muscles. The autosuggestion passes through the muscles all the way from our toes to our head. Then, slowly, messages are sent to the kidneys, liver and the other internal organs.

  1. Mental Relaxation

When experiencing mental tension, it is advisable for us to breathe slowly and rhythmically for a few minutes. Soon the mind will become calm. You may experience a kind of floating sensation. If you have a personal mantra, gently begin repeating it to yourself. If you do not have a personal mantra, you can repeat the mantra “om” as you visualize the light rising within. Mantra and breath work are a fundamental component of mental relaxation.

  1. Spiritual Relaxation

However much we may try to relax the mind, all tensions and worries cannot be completely removed until we reach spiritual relaxation. As long as we unconsciously choose to identify with the body and mind, we will have worries, sorrows, anxieties, fear, and anger. These emotions, in turn, will continue to bring us tension.

Yogis know that unless a person can withdraw from the body-mind idea and separate herself (or himself) from the ego-consciousness, there is no way of obtaining complete relaxation. Instead the Yogi identifies with the all-pervading, all-powerful, all-peaceful and joyful Self, or pure consciousness within. The Yogi knows that the source of all power, knowledge, peace and strength is in the Self, and not solely in the body. We gradually tune into this by training our thoughts to subconsciously assert our real nature, that is: “I am that pure consciousness or Self”. With this identification with the Self, we complete the process of Yogic relaxation.

4. Proper Diet – Yogic Diet

Besides being responsible for building our physical body, the foods we eat profoundly affect our mind, our senses, as well as our environment. Today, let us begin by getting familiar with the fundamentals.

Yogic Diet

The Yogic diet is a lacto-vegetarian one, consisting of pure, simple, natural foods which are easily digested and promote good health. Simple meals aid the digestion and assimilation of foods. On the counter-side, processing, refining and overcooking often destroys much of the nutritional benefits. Nutritional requirements fall under five categories: protein, carbohydrates, minerals, fats and vitamins. We should have a certain knowledge of dietetics in order to balance the diet. Eating foods first-hand from nature, grown in fertile soil (preferably organic, free from chemicals and pesticides) helps ensure a better supply of these nutritional needs.

Nutritionally Beneficial

Yoga professes that the sun is the source of energy for all life on our planet; it nourishes the plants (the top of the food chain) which are then eaten by animals (vegetarian), which are then eaten by other animals (carnivores). The food at the top of the food chain, being directly nourished by the sun, has the greatest life promoting properties. The food value of animal flesh is termed as a “second-hand” source of nutrition, and is considered inferior to what they call natural sources of food. These natural foods (fruits, vegetables, seeds, nuts and grains) have, in varying quantities, different proportions of these essential nutrients. As source of protein, these are easily assimilated by the body. However, Yogis share that second-hand sources are often more difficult to digest and are of less value to the body’s metabolism.

Enough Protein?

The short answer is yes. Though people often worry about whether they are getting enough protein in their daily intake, Swami Vishnu teaches that the quality of the protein is far more important than the quantity alone. Dairy products, legumes, nuts and seeds are a great source of protein and provide the vegetarian with more than an adequate supply.

Simple, Natural, Fresh

A healthy motto is: “Eat to live, not live to eat”. It is best if we understand that the purpose of eating is to supply our being with the life-force, or Prāṇa, the vital life energy. So the greatest nutritional plan for the Yoga student is the simple diet of natural fresh foods.

Subtle Effects

As Yogis, we give attention to the subtle effect that food has on our mind and astral body. We therefore avoid foods which are overly stimulating, preferring those which render the mind calm and the intellect sharp. One who seriously takes to the path of Yoga would also avoid ingesting meats, fish, eggs, onions, garlic, coffee, tea (except herbal), alcohol and drugs.

Of course any change in diet should be made gradually. Start by substituting larger portions of vegetables, grains, seeds and nuts until finally all flesh products have been completely eliminated from the diet.

Many Benefits

The Yogic diet helps us attain a high standard of health, keen intellect and serenity of mind. To really understand the Yogic approach to diet we have to become more familiar with the concept of the 3 Guṇas, or qualities of nature.

5. Positive thinking & Meditation – Vedānta & Dhyāna

According to Swami Vishnudevananda, Vedānta & Dhyāna (Positive Thinking and Meditation) is the most important of all the 5 Points of Yoga, for we become what we think. Yoga teaches us that a positive outlook on life can be developed by learning and practicing the teachings of the philosophy of Vedānta; and the mind will be brought under perfect control by regular practice of meditation and living a Yogic lifestyle.

What is Thought?

We have waves of heat, light and electricity in science – in Yoga we also have thought waves. Thought has tremendous power. Everybody is always experiencing the power of thought unconsciously to a greater or lesser degree. Every thought that we send out is a vibration which never perishes.

Yoga – A Transformative Power

We must be very watchful in nipping non-positive thoughts in the bud. Only then will we be truly happy. A spiritual thought has yellow color. A thought charged with anger and hatred is of a dark red color; a selfish thought has a brown color and so on. Each thought is a link in an endless chain of causes and effects, each effect becoming a cause and each cause having been an effect; and each link in the endless chain is welded out of three components: desire, thought and activity. A desire stimulates a thought; a thought embodies itself as an act. Our actions constitute the web of destiny.

Yoga – Living in Action

A positive Yogic lifestyle automatically generates positive thoughts. Āsanas help move the prāṇa and remove mental blockages. Prāṇāyāma balances energy and supplies new energy to the body and mind. Śavāsana removes stress. Proper diet provides vital energy and meditation recharges and purifies thoughts.

Everyone has the power to transform his or her thoughts from the negative to the positive. As thought is immediate, one needs to master these different thought tools at our disposal as a negative thought becomes more serious over time, by the power of repetition. There are methods offered through all paths of Yoga – Rājā, Karma, Bhakti and Jñāna – there are methods for whatever path suits one best. If this topic is of deep interest to you, perhaps consider enrolling in the Teachers Training Course, for you will find it incredible. For now we will summarize by offering this brief introduction and will continue with a few points to remember regarding meditation and learning to control the mind.

7 Points of Meditation

  1. Sit in a steady, comfortable, cross-legged position with spine and neck erect but not tense.
  2. Before beginning, command the mind to be quiet for a specific length of time. Forget the past, present and future.
  3. Breathe in a rhythmic nature – inhale for three seconds and exhale for three seconds. Regulation of breath also regulates the flow of prāṇa, the vital energy.
  4. Allow the mind to wander at first. It will jump around, but will eventually become concentrated, along with the concentration of prāṇa.
  5. Select a focal point on which the mind may rest. For people who are intellectual by nature, this may be the Ājñā Chakra, the point between the eyebrows. For more emotional people, use the Anāhata or Heart Chakra. Never change this focal point.
  6. Focus on a neutral or uplifting object, holding the image in the place of concentration. If using a Mantra, repeat it mentally, and co-ordinate repetition with the breath. If you don’t have a personalized Mantra, use Om. Never change the Mantra.
  7. Regularity of time, place and practice are important. Regularity conditions the mind to slow down its activities with a minimum of delay.

The original source was published here.

Comments (1)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.